June Wrap Up | 2017  

Don’t you love it when the first day of the month falls on the weekend? Because I do! Perfect timing to wrap up the previous month and set up reading and non-reading goals for the next month, and just taking some time off to recharge!

June was one of the best reading and blogging month this year, hopefully it treated you well too! If you can recall, for my June TBR I decided not to make an actual To-Be-Read pile but small goals that would keep me motivated and it worked wonders!

Here is a small check-list that I made for myself, but I thought you would be interested to see it too:

  1. Read 14 books to complete 2017 GoodReads Challenge.  X
  2. Read as many ARCs as possible and reach 80% on NetGalley.  🗸
  3. Read and comment on fellow bloggers’ posts.  🗸
  4. Be more consistent with preparing and publishing on my blog.  🗸
  5. Write more diverse posts (i.e. something other than reviews).  🗸
  6. Find a new TV show to watch.  X

I might be a little bit harsh on myself, and technically I did not complete my GoodReads challenge in June, BUT! I read a total of 13 books and most of them turned out to be AMAZING! So even though I did not complete my goal, I am still super happy about the amount and quality of the books I read.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 STAR READS

These were some amazing books and «Nyxia» by Scott Reintgen made it to my “2017 Favourites” list on GoodReads (a list for very special books only!). What surprises me the most is how different these three books are!

«Words in Deep Blue» by Cath Crowley is a YA contemporary, «Every Last Lie» by Mary Kubica is an Adult mystery / thriller, and finally «Nyxia» is a YA Sci-fi / Dystopian! That is crazy!

Make sure to check my reviews on these titles! «Nyxia» will only be out in September this year and I already CAN’T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK OF THE SERIES!

⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4 STAR READS

There were four 4 star reads (what a coincidence). And yes, that was the first time ever I read «The Hunger Games» and honestly… I don’t think I  will ever be able to enjoy it more than the movie. While reading this book, I kept trying to compare it to the movie and Jennifer Lawrence did not leave my head even for a second.

And, yes, I finally started reading the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy!!!

⭐⭐⭐ 3 STAR READS

These were not bad in any way and I enjoyed myself quite a lot. My review on the «Bring Her Home» by David Bell will be coming soon, close to the release date (11th of July).

⭐⭐ 2 STAR READS

The third tale from the Shadowhunters Academy deserved only 2 stars from me, because I am just not a fan of the Tess, Will, Jem trio. Will see if that changes in the future.

«The Evaporation of Sofi Snow» by Mary Weber had a GREAT CONCEPT, but its execution was fairly poor… unfortunately.

«Select» by Marit Weisenberg was another new series I was excited about, but paranormal romances are usually hit or miss with me, and this one didn’t hit at the right spot.

1 STAR READS

Sadly, there were two 1 star reads (one of them I DNFed) this month. That does not happen often, but I must say that I am still glad that I am trying different things, some completely out of my comfort zone. As these two books are only coming out later this year, I will be posting my reviews closer to the release date as usual.


When it comes to my next June goal, I was able to catch up with my ARCs (I think I read quite a lot of them during May and June), and I am finally on 87%! Now the difficult part is to keep it that way!

Feedback Ratio: 87%

46 Approved  |  40 Feedback Sent

Suggested feedback ratio is 80%

I also managed to stay active during the entire month of June and compiled a small list of post I absolutely loved (there were tons and tons of good posts this month, it took all of my will power to narrow it down to only 4!)

  1. June 6th: I stumbled upon this super helpful post @IShouldReadThis – «A Guide to Reading Neil Gaiman». 
  2. June 12th: Beth @ReadingEveryNight posted some wonderful pictures from her trip to Krakow, Poland!
  3. June 28th: Another helpful post from Zuky @BookBum for every book blogger out there.
  4. June 27th: Cath’s wrap up of the first half of the year is hilarious as always. I can’t get enough of her witty jokes!  

And this is it for my monthly wrap up! How was your month of June?Let me know in the comments down below!

With love,

Alex

12 thoughts on “June Wrap Up | 2017  

  1. I’m so glad you liked my Gaiman post! It looks like you had a great month. I’m really jealous of your NetGalley ratio. I’m lurking at 25% because I was a little overzealous when I first joined 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was super helpful! The only book I read by Neil Gaiman so far was Stardust, so I will try to use some of your advices for my next pick.
      I think the lowest I had on NetGalley was 60% 😀 You need to work your way up! Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for featuring my Krakow post Alex, I’m so glad you enjoyed it enough to feature it in your Wrap Up for June! 🙂
    Also it seems like you had a great reading month. 13 books is an amazing achievement, and more than I managed to get through as well. Also you were only one under your goal which isn’t much when you think about it. Congrats as well on getting your NetGalley feedback back above 80%, I try and keep mine above that as well but it can be hard when there are so many amazing ARCs on there to request.
    Seems like you have a great June, I hope your July is a great one too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Beth ❤ June was by far the most productive month. I feel that July will be slower in terms of reading but that doesn't matter as long as I get to read some great books from my TBR.

      Your Krakow pictures were beautiful ❤ I have a weakness for travelling blogs and posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah I can’t believe that this was your first time reading the hunger games. And I totally agree, even though I read the books first I can’t help but think about the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.