Top 5 European cities I’d like to visit!

Hi, guys! It’s officially summertime! Yesterday was the first time I went to the beach this year, which is kinda crazy since I literally live 10 minutes away from the ocean, lol. And we didn’t even go to lay on the beach, just a little evening stroll during the sunset. 

As you know, I shared with you earlier this month that July will be my “traveling through books month”. I want to wrap all my “travels” up before the Reading Rush begins on the 20th of July, so as I’m writing this post, I’m on my last book and last destination – Afghanistan. Hopefully, I’ll manage to finish it today and return home in time for the read-a-thon 😀 

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Book Events/Festivals I’d Love to Go to Someday, but since July is all about traveling on this blog, I decided to make a little twist on this week’s theme and share top 5 destinations I’d love to visit one day!

1 – Edinburgh, Scotland

Were you expecting a tropical island? 😀 I definitely prefer having more urban holidays. So let’s start with my n.º 1 ultimate destination – Edinburgh! 

I’ve always wanted to visit Scotland, ever since I started learning English at school and we had these “country study” lessons, where we learned about different English-speaking countries / towns / cities. I loved it! I loved the photos taken in Edinburgh and I knew that one day I will travel to see it with my own eyes.


2 – Paris, France

Eiffel Tower, Montmartre, Louvre, Notre Dame… Paris harbors all of the most famous monuments, museums, and cathedrals. When I was little, I had a children’s detective story in which they traveled to Paris and I LOVED it! I must have re-read it over 20 times, and imagined myself visiting all of the places mentioned in the book. Later, when I read «The Da Vinci Code» by Dan Brown, my love for Paris (and Louvre) intensified threefold. 

It’s sad that I won’t be able to see the Notre Dame in its true glory, but I can’t wait to walk the streets of Paris, take a boat tour on Sena, and finally visit Louvre! 


3 – Rome, Italy

Images by Christopher Czermak | Josh Hild | L A L A S Z A

Last year we were planning a car trip from the South to the North of Italy. It was supposed to happen this year, however with the current situation, and the fact that my exams got postponed by more than 6 months, we scrapped this idea (for now). In any case, I have my route already all planned out and it will definitely happen soon!


4 – London, England

Images by Mariana Alves | Jack Finnigan | Paul Gilmore

I don’t think I need to explain why I want to visit London 😀 Although, I have to be honest – I’m not as excited about it as I used to be. I probably would prefer to see the South of the UK or maybe travel to Ireland, but London is one of those “bucket-list” cities that I need to check off my list at some point.


5 – Athens, Greece

Images by Artiom Vallat | Constantinos Panagopoulos | Massimiliano Donghi

Athens and many other Greek islands ❤ Spending a week or so at one of the Greek islands would be a dream come true! This is a perfect destination to not only walk around and see historic sights but also lounge by the pool or beach, eat very tasty food and drink lots of cold sparkly wine. Mmmh…


This was such a fun post to make! I hope you’ll enjoy this as well. I just hope that in a couple of years I’ll be able to re-make this post and insert photos taken by me at all of these locations! 🙂

Make sure to share your top destinations in the comments below!

Connect with me on GoodReads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

48 thoughts on “Top 5 European cities I’d like to visit!

  1. I just did Rome, London and Paris last summer – in Paris I’d highly recommend going to the Shakespeare and Company bookstore (books + great view of notre dame) and checking out the bookseller stalls that line the Seine. London was a place I didn’t expect to like much – but now I’m dying to go back, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    If you go to Rome, do a day trip out to Pompeii – it’s incredible. Also, go to the cinque terre if you’re heading north – beautiful views, and amazing food.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s amazing! And thank you so much for the recommendations! ❤ Pompeii is a must-visit place for me. I kinda want to start planning my EU trip for the next year, hopefully we won't have any further COVID flare-ups.

      Like

  2. Some great choices! I went to Rome years ago and during the months I spent in England I had unfortunately no time to go to London. Be careful of that btw, there are So many cities to visit you enjoy to visit, just in England. Check out Oxford, for a bookworm it’s like paradise there. Plus famous writers such as Tolkien or Pullman, Lewis, Caroll lived (or are still living, for those who aren’t dead like Pullman) there! Nice post, thanks for sharing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We were supposed to go to Paris and London this year but obviously that didn’t happen! Hopefully we get the chance to go again! I have never been to Athens though. The Greek islands sound so idyllic

    Liked by 1 person

  4. London has always been on the top of cities I want to visit someday. I’ve always wanted to go there ever since I was a child. I should probably lower my expectations just so that I won’t end up feeling disappointed, but well, I just really want to go to London. I would’ve loved it even more if I could study or live there for a while, but I gotta make my dreams a little bit realistic, you know? 😂

    Aside from London, I would love to visit Paris, Venice, and Prague.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, London is the same for me. I’ve always wanted to see every single monument and famous places myself. 😀 And Prague is beautiful! I went there over 10 years ago now, and loved every single moment. I wish we’d visited more places though while we were there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah Rome…. I love it so much. Went for a family wedding many years ago when I wasn’t as ill as I am now and was super annoyed one of my days was taken up by the wedding and not by sightseeing 😂😂😂 But as a city…it was everything I dreamed it could be and more. I have the most wonderful memories. I hope you get to go there soon Alex.
    Athens is definitely first up on my travel bucket list. I don’t like the idea of sun / beach / party holidays but instead prefer to see historical sites, visit museums, art galleries. 😊😊😊❤️💖💚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved Paris and London ❤ And all the Greek Island are so pretty! I really want to visit Scotland too! Ahh, this gives me so much travel vibes 🙂
    I hope you get to visit these all!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I live near London so it’s not exactly a bucket list one for me, it’s more a pretty regular day trip! I love Edinburgh, one of my favourite cities, I was only an hour’s train away from there whilst I was at Uni, so I went quite a lot and there’s so much cool book related stuff there. Paris, I also really enjoyed and would like to go back someday. Athens is okay, but I definitely recommend the islands, I went to Crete and Santorini a few years ago and they were both lovely. I’d love to go to Rome, I’ve only been to Italy once and there are still so many places I’d love to visit.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2020/07/21/top-ten-tuesday-273/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I got to spend a solo weekend in Edinburgh last fall and it was the most incredible experience! Old Town is straight out of a fairytale, I felt like the heroine in a book 😂 I wandered around exploring Harry Potter landmarks and venturing out for late night fish n’ chips, I still can’t believe I got to go!! London is also incredible – I hope you get the chance to visit all of these!! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love your twist on the topic! I’ve seen London, Paris and Rome and though they were all amazing I loved Rome the most. Edinburgh and Athens are both gorgeous destinations I’d love to visit as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh I 100% going to Edinburgh! Such a wonderful city, very bookish too! I would go back in a heartbeat! I hope you get to go one day!
    To me, I London is a city that you only need to see once, like once you’ve seen it, you’ve seen it… but I hope you get to go to cross it off your traveling list! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Enjoyed this post so much, Alex!! I visited Rome last year and LOVED it. For people interestes in history and art Rome is a must-go destination, in my opinion and I won’t forget how much fun I had wandering through the streets and enjoying the sun. 🧡 I actually planned going to Edinburgh this summer (;-;) which didn’t happen due to the current situation… but I want to catch up on that at some point. I visited Paris some time ago and somehow barely remember anything of it. 😅 London is a great city, too, probably one of my favourite destinations. // As for European destinations, I’d really like to visit Portugal, Spain (Madrid and the South), Paris, Athens & Edinburgh. I hope you can cross these off your bucket list once the situation gets better. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you’ll be able to re-book your trip to Edinburgh soon! And share the pictures with us! ❤ Portugal is great, can vouch for it 😀 weather here is incredible right now and I finally carved out some time to go to the beach last week. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh I love this post! These are all on my bucket-list, as well, but Greece is my dream destination. To me, Greece has always seemed like its own little world. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ahhh yes, all these sound lovely!!! I’m DYING to visit Paris, and I’d love to visit Athens and Rome as well, and Berlin too!! I’ve been to London and it was great – I would enjoy visiting again, but I’d prefer visiting other cities in the UK now xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.