August Wrap Up | Reading demotivation & Fall expectations

There are certain months that mean something for me. For example, December is filled with holiday spirit; March resembles the approximation of warmer Spring days and September marks a new working / school year, like a twin brother of January.

And then there are months that don’t provide anything but crowded beaches and hot weather, especially when you live at a tourist destination. That what August was like. Many people, many events, many cars on the roads and some extremely hot days.

I took a few days off work to enjoy the summer sun and had a very lovely, relaxing holiday, and I am more than ready to start a new productive working year!

Now! I’ve had a very bad reading month – (A) I didn’t read as much as I hoped I would and (B) most of the books I didn’t enjoy… unfortunately.

As you might know, I was participating in #ARCAugust hosted by Read.Sleep.Repeat and I’ve done well. Most of the books I read were ARCs, but that did not hinder my ARC list AT ALL. Some of my requests got approved and now I have even more than in the beginning of August.

5 – ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

16131484«The Infinite Sea» by Rick Yancey. This was an easy 5-star. I absolutely love the 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey and the last book is currently on its way. I mean what is there not to love about it?? Great dystopian world, thrilling events, amazing characters and a very light romance that does not interfere with the main line of events. Perfection!

4 – ⭐⭐⭐⭐

32970056

«Mr. 60%» by Clete Barrett Smith. A very short and quite enjoyable read, it is less than 200 pages and reads in one sitting. Check my review for more detailed thoughts.

28239935

«Artemis» by Andy Weir. O.M.G. Andy Weir creates the most stunning Sci-Fi settings ever. This time we will be living in a city on the Moon! There were a few things that I didn’t enjoy but overall this was a great read. As it is only coming out in November, I will be posting a full review on my blog closer to the release date, but you can check my GoodReads review.

33876596

«Things a Bright Girl Can Do» by Sally Nicholls. If you are on a hunt for some new Historical Fiction, definitely give this one a try. In my review I talked about how I didn’t enjoy the book but couldn’t find any flaws in it. So if you’ve read this book, let me know what your thoughts are.

35842190

«Just Another Week in Suburbia» by Les Zig was a surprising discovery for me. I saw the cover, I read the blurb and it intrigued me. In a span of one week the whole life of Casper Gray has fallen apart. What an intense novel! More thoughts in my recently posted review!

3 – ⭐⭐⭐

3288769232920226

I gave three stars to both family dramas spiced by distinct Southern accent – «The Last Days of Summer» by Vanessa Ronan and «Sing, Unburied, Sing» by Jesmyn Ward.

2 – ⭐⭐

29385546

And finally I gave only 2 stars to «Warcross» by Marie Lu. I know! It was one of my most anticipated books of this year… My full review will be posted on 6th of September but for now let me tell you – a cringey romance sometimes can ruin the whole reading experience.

August was a month of OK books and that really threw me off reading. Hopefully I will make smarter choices in September!

With love,

Alex

5 thoughts on “August Wrap Up | Reading demotivation & Fall expectations

  1. Great post! I read The 5th Wave years ago when it first came and enjoyed it but didn’t keep up with the rest of the series. Seeing that you gave The Infinite Sea 5 stars though makes me think I might try and pick it up again and read the whole series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t read as much as I expected in August either, but hey – better reading months will come! 😛
    And I’m shocked to see you only gave 2 stars to Warcross. I don’t know much about the book, but people in Twitter loved it. I’m looking forward to your review to find out why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 Torches and spears are coming for me. But maybe I am just a little bit tired of YA or it was really full of clichés… Or maybe my expectations were too high. It’s a mystery!
      I loved gaming and virtual reality aspect of the book, but I wish it would not have romance and the “Cinderela” type of story. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.