Review: I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

51dVLcrS0gL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Book: I am Malala

Author: Malala Yousafzai,

Publisher: Editorial Presença (Portugal)

Year: 2014

Rating: ★★ / 5

***
“I am Malala. This is my story.”
Malala Yousafzai was only ten years old when the Taliban took control of her region. They said music was a crime. They said women weren’t allowed to go to the market. They said girls couldn’t go to school.
Raised in a once-peaceful area of Pakistan transformed by terrorism, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. So she fought for her right to be educated. And on October 9, 2012, she nearly lost her life for the cause: She was shot point-blank while riding the bus on her way home from school.
No one expected her to survive.

It’s hard to review these kind of books and I don’t think they should be reviewed at all. They aren’t there to entertain the audience and it is not about writing style or word flow or adjectives that the author used. These books are meant to transmit a message.

You might say here that all books carry some sort of message within them and it is true but some more than others. So consider this just my opinion and thoughts on the book and don’t take it for granted at all.

I was very interested in reading her story, getting to know more about what actually happened in Pakistan, how people survived Taliban oppression.

However this book turned out to be not quite what I expected, it seemed more like a history of Pakistan than a narration. Obviously I understand the reason why the background had to be told, but I think it could be done in a better way to keep readers attention.

Maybe I was just not in the mood for something so serious and intense, but it took me a while to finish it. Not because it was uninteresting, not because it was hard to read, just too many descriptions along the book that made my mind wander and think about other things; I had to get back and reread page again and again to be able to keep forward.

It definitely transmitted its message well and told us a real story of the taliban events. But as a book destined to pull audience’s attention to one specific subject, pull us closer to those events, it didn’t quite work for me.

I, as many others, admire Malala and her entire family, all the people that stood against Taliban during uneasy times. This is a story full of courage and determination. If you are interested in picking it up, definitely do so and don’t listen to my silly thoughts!

Leave a Reply

