10 Books Released in the Last Ten Years to Add to My TBR!

It’s another Tuesday, which means Top Ten Tuesday time! As always I love joining in on the fun and creating content for specific themes. But (you probably already noticed) I always tend to rebel a little bit and give the theme a spin of my own!

This week’s TTT is Top 10 Favorite Books Released in the Last Ten Years, and the idea is to come up with one book per each year. I tend to always talk about my favorite books, so I didn’t feel like repeating something I’ve done before, therefore today I’m talking about my TBR. More specifically – 10 Books Released in the Last Ten Years that are still on my To-Be-Read List!

I went to my vast GoodReads TBR shelf and selected one book for each year that I’m the most excited to read.


10 BOOKS RELEASED IN THE LAST TEN YEARS
THAT ARE STILL ON MY TO-BE-READ LIST!

2009 | THE MAGICIANS BY LEV GROSSMAN

I can’t believe that I only found this book a few months ago. And mostly thanks to the TV show, that in my opinion is not the best. I struggled through the first 3-4 episodes and completely gave up on it. But the idea is very interesting!

Quentin Coldwater is brilliant but miserable. A senior in high school, he’s still secretly preoccupied with a series of fantasy novels he read as a child, set in a magical land called Fillory. Imagine his surprise when he finds himself unexpectedly admitted to a very secret, very exclusive college of magic in upstate New York, where he receives a thorough and rigorous education in the craft of modern sorcery… more


2010 | THE BLACK PRISM BY BRENT WEEKS

This book has been on my shelves for over a year now, and I still haven’t find the time to read it. I might be slightly scared by its size. Hm…

Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. Yet Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.
When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he’s willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart… more


2011 | PRINCE OF THORNS BY MARK LAWRENCE

This year everyone has been talking about Mark Lawrence. Most because of his final book in the Book of Ancestors trilogy – «Grey Sister» that came out last month. I do own «Red Sister», but as audiobook and I’m not sure I want to listen to it, I’d prefer some other format. And I’m also quite interested in his previous works.

Before the thorns taught me their sharp lessons and bled weakness from me I had but one brother, and I loved him well. But those days are gone and what is left of them lies in my mother’s tomb. Now I have many brothers, quick with knife and sword, and as evil as you please. We ride this broken empire and loot its corpse. They say these are violent times, the end of days when the dead roam and monsters haunt the night. All that’s true enough, but there’s something worse out there, in the dark. Much worse… more


2012 | THE KILLING MOON BY N.K. JEMISIN

So I first heard about N.K. Jemisin late last year, when one of the YouTubers I religiously watch was reading The Broken Earth series. I went on a little google search of N.K. Jemisin works, and her books sounded so interesting. It’s all very dystopian, survivalist – just the things I love the most in my books.

In the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and among the shadows of its cobbled streets wait the Gatherers – the keepers of this peace. Priests of the dream-goddess, their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe…and kill those judged corrupt… more


2013 | THE GOLDFINCH BY DONNA TARTT

«The Goldfinch» by Donna Tartt is one of those iconic books that received so many positive reviews. My hopes are very high for this one, and I’m afraid that it might disappoint me or that it doesn’t live up to my expectations.

It begins with a boy. Theo Decker, a thirteen-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don’t know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his unbearable longing for his mother, he clings to one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art… more


2014 | THE QUEEN OF THE TEARLING BY ERIKA JOHANSEN

Still don’t own it, even though it was one of the first books I stumbled upon on Booktube. It’s been on my Goodreads to-be-read shelf ever since. It’s about time I actually get it and read it!

An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut—the first novel in a trilogy.
Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom’s haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands… more


2015 | FATES AND FURIES BY LAUREN GROFF

I’m a big fan of Literary Fiction, and «Fates and Furies» by Lauren Groff sound particularly interesting.

Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At the core of this rich, expansive, layered novel, Lauren Groff presents the story of one such marriage over the course of twenty-four years… more


2016 | SALT TO THE SEA BY RUTA SEPETYS

Winner of GoodReads Choice Award in 2016, «Salt to the Sea», a fictionalization of sinking of MV Wilhelm Gustoff, cruise German ship, at the very end of the World War II. Am I prepared to read about one of the saddest history moments?

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety… more



2017 | THIS MORTAL COIL BY EMILY SUDAVA

Hackers, technology, DNA changes! I love a good Sci-Fi, especially mixed in with some dystopian elements!

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius… more


2018 | FOUNDRYSIDE BY ROBERT JACKSON BENNETT

And finally, the book I’m the most excited about is «Foundryside» by Robert Jackson Bennett that came out last year!

Sancia Grado is a thief, and a damn good one. And her latest target, a heavily guarded warehouse on Tevanne’s docks, is nothing her unique abilities can’t handle.
But unbeknownst to her, Sancia’s been sent to steal an artifact of unimaginable power, an object that could revolutionize the magical technology known as scriving. The Merchant Houses who control this magic–the art of using coded commands to imbue everyday objects with sentience–have already used it to transform Tevanne into a vast, remorseless capitalist machine. But if they can unlock the artifact’s secrets, they will rewrite the world itself to suit their aims… more

Which books from your TBR are you the most excited about? Have you read any of the books listed above?
Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

*P.S. Don’t forget to link your TTT post as well!

Connect with me on GoodReads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

24 thoughts on “10 Books Released in the Last Ten Years to Add to My TBR!

    1. Thank you, hun 🙂 I read «All the Light We Cannot See» earlier this year, and I think they are kind of similar? If they are, I’m sure I’ll love it (slowly preparing for the heartbreak)

      Like

  1. As much as I love The Magicians, I must admit that it took them a while to find their footing in the TV show. It does get amazing by the end of season 1/beginning of season 2, though!

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The TV show wasn’t the best. I liked the first couple of episodes, but then slowly got bored by it and gave up (don’t think I finished the 1st season). I’m excited about the books though, and maybe after reading the books I’ll feel like giving the TV show another try. 🙂

      Like

    1. Me neither! 😀 Until I started to write this post and went through my GoodReads TBR shelf to find some titles released in the last ten years. Lol
      But I’m going to start with his Red Sister trilogy, already ordered books 1 and 2. And then, will hopefully move onto the Prince of Thorns *fingers crossed*.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol most of these are on my TBR too, except Queen of the Tearling, which I tried and DNF’d.
    Ditto with the Magicians. I want to read it because I enjoy the TV show. Would like to try Black Prism too because I read Weeks’s Night Angel series and enjoyed it. Would like to try Mark Lawrence’s work and same too for N.K. Jemisin and Donna Tartt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 We can do it! We can read all the books!
      (The bookstore website where I usually order books from is having some discounts today, so I already ordered Red Sister and some of N.K. Jemisin books 😀 and it’s only 8 am!)

      Like

        1. I want to say “Do It!”, but I’m going to try to be a good influence and say “Don’t do it!” 😀
          Although… I’d never be able to resist and not purchase new books :O

          Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.