Most Anticipated Releases | August 2019

It’s officially the 6th day of NEWTs, and I’ve yet to read any of the books from my readathon TBR. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Instead I picked up «Normal People» by Sally Rooney (It’s amazing btw!) and spent many hours looking at the upcoming releases.

There are some very exciting books coming out this month (i.e. «The Passenger» by John Marrs) and I was very lucky to get two ARCs – «Bursts of Fire», which I’m planning to read asap, and «Keeping Lucy» that I read in June!

MOST ANTICIPATED YA BOOKS OF AUGUST 2019

HOUSE OF SALT AND WATER BY ERIN A.CRAIG

In a manor by the sea, twelve sisters are cursed.

Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls’ lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last—the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge—and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods… more


BURSTS OF FIRE BY SUSAN FOREST

To survive. To fight. To restore balance.

The Falkyn sisters bear a burden and a legacy. Their mother, the imperial magiel of the kingdom of Orumon, protects her people from the horrors of the afterlife by calling upon the Gods with a precious Prayer Stone. But war among the kingdoms has brought fire and destruction to their sheltered world… more


MIND GAMES BY SHANA SILVER

Arden sells memories. Whether it’s the becoming homecoming queen or studying for that all important test, Arden can hack into a classmate’s memories and upload the experience for you just as if you’d lived it yourself. Business is great, right up until the day Arden whites out, losing 15 minutes of her life and all her memories of the hot boy across the school yard. The hot boy her friends assure her she’s had a crush on for years… more

MOST ANTICIPATED ADULT BOOKS OF AUGUST 2019

KEEPING LUCY BY T. GREENWOOD

Dover, Massachusetts, 1969. Ginny Richardson’s heart was torn open when her baby girl, Lucy, born with Down Syndrome, was taken from her. Under pressure from his powerful family, her husband, Ab, sent Lucy away to Willowridge, a special school for the “feeble-minded.” Ab tried to convince Ginny it was for the best. That they should grieve for their daughter as though she were dead. That they should try to move on… more


the turn of the key by ruth ware

When she stumbles across the ad, she’s looking for something else completely. But it seems like too good an opportunity to miss—a live-in nannying post, with a staggeringly generous salary. And when Rowan Caine arrives at Heatherbrae House, she is smitten—by the luxurious “smart” home fitted out with all modern conveniences, by the beautiful Scottish Highlands, and by this picture-perfect family… more


the passengers by john marrs

You’re riding in your self-driving car when suddenly the doors lock, the route changes and you have lost all control. Then, a mysterious voice tells you, “You are going to die.” 

Just as self-driving cars become the trusted, safer norm, eight people find themselves in this terrifying situation, including a faded TV star, a pregnant young woman, an abused wife fleeing her husband, an illegal immigrant, a husband and wife, and a suicidal man… more


the warehouse by rob hart

Gun violence, climate change and unemployment have ravaged the United States beyond recognition.

Amidst the wreckage, an online retail giant named Cloud reigns supreme. Cloud brands itself not just as an online storefront, but as a global saviour. Yet, beneath the sunny exterior, lurks something far more sinister… more

MOST ANTICIPATED MIDDLE GRADE BOOKS OF AUGUST 2019

ARCHIMANCY (SHADOW SCHOOL #1) BY J.A. WHITE

The first book in a middle grade series that introduces three friends and their quest to unravel the secrets of Shadow School, a strange middle school in New Hampshire, from the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and the Thickety series, J. A. White. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things, Neil Gaiman, and Adam Gidwitz.

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Black gates and ivied walls… more


What ARE your most anticipated bookS of AUGUST 2019?
LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS BELOW!

Connect with me on GoodReads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

13 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Releases | August 2019

  1. The girl next to me on my flight back from England earlier this summer was reading Normal People, which I had never heard of before. All of a sudden when I came back it seemed like everyone was reading it! I’ve heard fantastic things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.