Booktube-a-Thon 2017 | I did it! Completed challenges and wrap up!

I was battling between the ideas of including this post in my July wrap up or writing a separate dedicated post just for the read-a-thon, and as my first ever reading event, I decided that it deserved its own well rounded conclusion!

I DID IT! I MANAGED TO COMPLETE ALL OF THE CHALLENGES!  

It was a very intense reading week, as I usually don’t read that much, but it feels good to overcome my reading slump that haunted me from the beginning of July and actually make some progress through my TBR pile.

If you are friends with me on GoodReads, you might have noticed that I switched some books from my original Booktube-a-Thon TBR post, but that is alright!

For the first challenge – read a book with a person on the cover, I actually went with «Ewan Pendle and the Write Wraith» by Shaun Hume. There is definitely SOMEONE on the cover and don’t you dare to tell me otherwise!

35422555

Before the event I was already 35% through the book, so I read the remaining 350-ish pages during the Booktube-a-Thon week.

23395680

 

The second challenge was to read a hyped book. Here I went with my original choice and read «Illuminae» by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. I am so glad I did! It was AMAZING and I will be posting my review very soon. (n.º pages = 608)

29430580

 

Next challenge was a tricky one, it was to finish a book in one day, as I was still working full time, I decided to pick a graphic novel «Siberia 56» by  Christophe Bec, Alexis Sentenac. (n.º pages = 156)

 

For the fourth challenge – read about a character that is different from you, I finished listening to an audiobook «A Little Princess» by Frances Hogson Burnett! The warmest book I’ve ever read, about an Indian girl left by her father at a London seminary for Young Ladies. It now holds a special place in my heart. (n.º pages = 64)

1253990

34861977

 

Then us, challengers, had to read a book completely outside for challenge n.º 5 and I chose «The Ninth Circle» by C.A. Harland. It is coming out in October this year and was a very fast-paced story for the read-a-thon! (n.º pages = 244)

22098550

 

The sixth challenge was to read a book you bought because of the cover and for me it was «Pax» by Sara Pennypacker. I cried so much… This book is total perfection and also my new favourite! (n.º pages = 278)

 

Finally, for the last challenge to read 7 books, I went with yet another graphic novel, also an ARC, «The Comic Book Story of Video Games: The Incredible History of the Electronic Gaming Revolution» by Jonathan Hennessey and completed my last challenge on Saturday! (n.º pages = 192)

33595688

Total count:

Books = 7

Pages = 1892

That was a lot of reading! How was your Booktube-a-thon? Were you able to complete the challenges you were aiming for?

With love,

Alex

7 thoughts on “Booktube-a-Thon 2017 | I did it! Completed challenges and wrap up!

Leave a Reply

