Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | A parody on fantasy?

It finally happened! After having it on my TBR for almost 7 months, in April I have read «Carry On». I love Rainbow Rowell and always will, but I was a little apprehensive to read her fantasy novel, and it’s for a good reason.

If you didn’t know, «Carry On» was a popular fantasy series first mentioned in «Fangirl» where Cate, the main character, was writing fanfiction for.

28356624Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world…

GoodReads  |  Amazon  |  Bookdepository

This was in no way a typical fantasy novel, and I am still confused about whether I liked it or not.

WHAT I LIKED:

1 – Rainbow Rowell’s amazing writing style will always be the first thing I mention in all of my posts about her books! I don’t think you can compare it to any other author, it’s the lightest yet the warmest moments of reading experience which I will forever be in love with.

If you haven’t yet experienced this unique fuzzy feeling, I highly recommend to pick one of Rainbow Rowell’s books. «Fangirl» and «Attachments» are good ones to start with.

◇◇◇

2 – Hers superpower to create the most relatable and real characters. You want to meet them, you want to befriend them, you even want to BE THEM! Not in a creepy way at all, trust me.

◇◇◇

3 – This book, like all others, is the fluffiest thing ever to cuddle yourself with. Usually after reading Rainbow Rowell the world seems like a better place and the amount of quotes you save for future references is abnormally huge.

WHAT I DISLIKED:

1 – As much as I loved it, I couldn’t shake off the feeling of reading a parody on fantasy and I am not referring to Harry Potter here. The similarities to the most famous wizard in the world are present throughout the book, but it was primarily a romance and only after that a fantasy – with its own Hermione Granger and funny sentences/phrases as spells that were not meant to be taken seriously.

My Rating:

⭐⭐⭐ / 5

Overall a quick and enjoyable read but not quite my favourite. Let me know in the comments down below if you are interested in this book and what you think about authors trying to erase a line between contemporary and fantasy!

With love,

Alex

4 thoughts on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | A parody on fantasy?

  1. This has been on my TBR for a long time too but I’ve been putting it off because I just can’t imagine Rowell writing fantasy. I love her other books and writing style but I am a little sceptical. Great review😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

