My first experience with AudioBooks | «To Die For» by Alice Clark-Platts

After thinking about audio books and hearing everyone’s love towards them on blogs and YouTube, I decided to give them a try. I found a free, very short novel on Audibooks.com – only an hour and ten minutes, «To Die For» by Alice Clark-Platts, narrated by Rachel Bavidge. And I must say that it was a great way to spend an hour of my time.

32516386In an empty car park, Ryan James sits in his car contemplating death. He has set up a hose pipe that is pouring carbon monoxide into the car, and he is deciding whether or not to close the last window and end it all. Finally, he gets a text and decides to end his life.

Detective Inspector Martin is called to the scene the next day. At first she is convinced it is a simple suicide but as she looks deeper into the boy’s life and his relationships she begins to wonder if someone else was involved.

GoodReads  |  Amazon

The book itself was not the best one I’ve ever read (listened to if you wish me to be technical). The plot was simple, the actual murderer was revealed very early in the book and the characters did not have any special quality, but considering that the narrative was only one hour long, I didn’t expect for it to be anything out of this world.

As I was walking along the beach, listening to this story, I got two things done at the same time – (1) I made myself to finally go for a long walk (after sitting at the Office from Monday to Friday) and (2) added another book to my May’s read list, plus feeling super productive in the process.

Before being certain about my relationship with audiobooks, I will need to try a full length book and see if I will be able to listen to all of it without losing the thread of the story. For now I am enjoying short stories during my walks and will definitely try more of these.

Let me know in the comments down below how do you feel about audiobooks. Do you like them more than actual reading? What was your favourite audiobook so far?

With love,

Alex

13 thoughts on “My first experience with AudioBooks | «To Die For» by Alice Clark-Platts

      1. My favorite is My Brother, My Brother, and Me! It’s a really good comedy podcast. Reading Glasses is a new one about books that I like too. Lore is good if you like horror.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I absolutely love audio books and listen during the day when it’s not possible to read an actual book. Makes the housework and ironing so much more enjoyable. I also listen while walking and got so engrossed in one story before I knew it I’d walked 6 miles.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have had both good and bad experiences.
    Sometimes it is hard to focus on the story when the voice actor switches character and all I can think about is how absurd it sounds.
    There have also been times that I am more immersed in a story when listening to it played out rather then on page.
    pros and cons. I think overall audio is a great tool especially for driving or long walks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am terrible when it comes to actually imagining the story in my head. When I am reading, it seems so easy and effortless, but when I am listening to the book it takes forever.. Although I’ve been loving long walks and audio books. Hopefully with more experience it will become easier to immerse myself into the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love audiobooks! I listen to them at work and it helps me to get through my ever growing TBR pile! Some narrators make the book that much better. Jim Dale reading Harry Potter is magical and Rebecca Soler did an amazing job reading The Lunar Chronicles. Youtube offers a lot of audiobooks but you can run the risk of one being deleted before you finish it. I listen to most of mine through Overdrive. My library has a virtual library that I can check out audiobooks through Overdrive. It has changed my life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

