Gambit by C.L.Denault | Another dystopian series to add to my TBR list!

It looks like quite a lot of new dystopian novels will be released this year! And I am very excited about that as I prefer a good dystopian novel to anything else! They are usually full of fights, intelligent inventions and worlds that could very easily be ours.

In January I fell in love with the new series – «Gilded Cage» by Vic James (check out my review on it if you missed it!). And in February I got my hands on another one – «Gambit» by C.L. Denault, published in March 2015.

cover79639-mediumIn Earth’s battle-ridden future, humans have evolved. Those with extraordinary skills rise to power and fame. Those without live in poverty.

Sixteen-year-old Willow Kent believed she was normal. But when a genetically-advanced military officer shows up in her village and questions her identity, long-buried secrets begin to emerge. With remarkable skills and a shocking genetic code the Core and its enemies will do anything to obtain, Willow suddenly finds the freedom she craves slipping through her fingers. Greed, corruption, and genetic tampering threaten every aspect of her existence as she’s thrust, unwilling, into the sophisticated culture of the elite Core city. To ensure peace, she must leave the past behind, marry a man she’s never met, and submit to the authority of a relentless officer with a hidden agenda of his own.

Her life has become a dangerous game. How much will she sacrifice in order to win?

Goodread  |  Amazon  |  Bookdepository

WHAT I LIKED:

1 – EASY TO READ AND EVENTFUL. It is quite a long novel for being the first book in the series (more precisely – 556 pages according to GoodReads), however I basically read 85% of the book in one afternoon and I could not stop! There was always something happening, not a single boring page. And that is what we love about books!

2 – I NEEDED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! And this does not only apply to the next book in the series, but this was my thought throughout the entire book (and definitely one of the reasons I couldn’t put it down). You know this feeling when you suspect what is going to happen but you want it to ACTUALLY happen to see the reaction of the characters?? Because if you don’t know this feeling, you DEFINITELY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

3 – NEW TAKE ON OUR WORLD THAT ALWAYS AMAZES ME! This is probably the main reason why I love dystopian novels so much. Who doesn’t want to see our world in a different way? What can happen to us in the future?? C.L.Denault’s world is definitely worth reading!

WHAT I DISLIKED:

1 – THE MAIN CHARACTER. Yes, I know it’s a big deal, however I didn’t hate her (I didn’t love her either) I just had some problems when it came to Willow, so let’s see:

  • talks how well she manipulates people but we never actually see her amazing manipulation skills;
  • too hot-headed and just TOO MUCH STUBBORNNESS (don’t get me wrong, I am very stubborn myself, but she exceeded my limit?!);
  • it wouldn’t be a main character if she didn’t do stupid things (this seems to be the motto lately for the majority of novels);
  • “I will do everything myself and help my friends” but it doesn’t really happen and she keeps relying on everyone around her? We might see some changes in the follow-up novels, but for now there were too much talking but not enough doing from Willow).

2 –  IT IS NEVER OKAY TO FALL FOR BRUTALITY! We all love the concept of “bad boys”, BUT! there is a difference between bad boys and a bully. And it is never okay to fall for it. This seemed like a bad example to all young girls out there. Correct me if I am wrong here.

My rating:

⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5 

Thank you NetGalley and REUTS Publication for the ARC of this book! Highly recommend it to anyone looking for new series to try out this summer!

With love,

Alex

Leave a Reply

