May Wrap Up | 2017

Where do I even begin? May was busy and quickpassing, yet it felt way longer than previous months. Maybe because I was able to read, post, work and do tons of other things. If only I had so much energy every month of the year!

Let’s see what happened last month!

Reading & Blogging

May consisted of a few very tough weeks when it came to finding time to read, blog or do anything at all. When life gets too hectic, I usually tend to binge watch YouTube until I fall asleep as a way to get my mind off other stressful things.

Last month I pulled myself together and didn’t let the “outside world” to mess with my reading and blogging goals. As a result I read 11 books! And I am only 15 books away from completing my yearly GoodReads challenge of 50 books!

GoodReads challenge

30753987«The Leavers» by Lisa Ko

There were so many good books in the month of May and «The Leavers» by Lisa Ko was one of them. Deming Guo has lost his mother. Did she die? Did she run away? Nobody told him the truth when he was given away for adoption. He grew up as Daniel Wilkinson but he never forgot who he was before the American family took him in.

Set in America, this book tells the story of chinese immigrants and their struggles. Things that are usually not spoken out loud, the difficulties that people go through to build a better life for themselves and for their children.

23308087«Flame in the Mist» by Renée Ahdieh

Another 5-star read was a first book in a new fantasy series (duology? trilogy?) by Renée Ahdieh. Mariko, born and raised in a wealthy family, was promised to become a wife of the emperor’s first born son. However, on her way to emperor’s palace her litter was assaulted and everyone killed. Everyone but Mariko. Proven to be stronger than she appeared, Mariko decided to uncover the truth behind the attack by herself as she plotted her way into the mist of Black Clan.

Samurais, feudal Japan and tons of action will not let you escape the magical world created by Renée Ahdieh!

32792758«All the Good Things» by Clare Fisher

There are not enough words to describe my love towards this book. Please, make sure to check a more detailed review, because if you haven’t read it, or haven’t heard about this book before, you need to get it IMMEDIATELY.

I rarely add books to my favourite shelf, but when I do they are utmost special! Only books that make me feel a ray of emotions that last for days after finishing them, hold a very special place in my heart.

32516386«To Die For» by Alice Clark-Platts (audiobook)

This was my first Audiobook experience and it was great. Not the book but the experience itself. I will be uploading a more detailed post very soon, but just let me say that Audiobooks are great for multitasking!

Since I have an Office job, I spend majority of my time sitting in front of a computer and after work I have blogging and reading things to catch up on which means even more sitting in front of a computer, even though sometimes all I want to do is go for a walk when the weather is amazingly good! Audiobooks turned out to be a perfect solution for staying productive even on a walk! Such a perfect solution that I ended up listening to two classics for my Classic-a-Month reading challenge – «The Call of the Wild» by Jack London and «The Curious Case of Benjamin Button» by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

17927395«A Court of Mist and Fury» by Sarah J. Maas

Due to upcoming release of the third book in the series by Sarah J. Maas and since I’ve read the first book in April, it was only fair to get myself up to date with this Fae story that everyone is in love with.

The second book was slightly better than the first one, but still lacking something for me to give it 5 stars. Hopefully, the final one will be better. (Although I heard some very mixed reviews).

27213329«Grit: Passion, Perseverance, and the Science of Success» by Angela Duckworth (non-fiction)

A non-fiction book that I DNFed. But! Don’t blame the book for my lack of grittiness. It was very interesting, well-written and informative. However, it’s not the book that you can read in one sitting or in one week. It felt more like a school book and my hands itched to grab a notepad and a pen to start writing things down.

 

34859647«Den of Shadows» by Christopher Byford

Erm.. A very descriptive, train focused story that I did not enjoy. That is how I can summarize my feelings towards this book.

32571395«One of Us is Lying» by Karen McManus.

This new contemporary thriller / crime / mystery novel was on almost everyone’s list of most anticipated books in the month of May. I was so lucky to get my hands on the ARC of this book, but unfortunately I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

The concept was very appealing – five teenagers: the brain, the beauty, the criminal, the jock and the gossip were in detention, but only 4 came out. The Breakfast Club mixed with Agatha Christie! However, the writing and execution were quite disappointing.

«Saga Vol I»

This was my birthday present in the month of May and I LOVED it. Very quirky, very weird but nonetheless very captivating.


What happened on my Blog

Reviews:

  1. The One by John Marrs | Do you believe in soul mates?
  2. The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr |An unbelievable adventure through memories or the tricks of a cruel mind?
  3. The Leavers by Lisa Ko | A Tragic Story of Deming Guo or a New Life of Daniel Wilkinson?
  4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Was it too similar to «Throne of Glass»?
  5. Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh | The new series I already added to my TBR list!
  6. Den of Shadows by Christopher Byford | One of the few books that did not grip my attention!
  7. One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus | A swirl of never ending secrets

Other Posts:

  1. April Wrap Up | 2017
  2. May TBR | A month of ARC catching up
  3. My most anticipated releases | May 2017
  4. The Series I started reading but did not keep up with!
  5. Classic-a-Month Reading Challenge | March and April Wrap Up

New Theme on Instagram

Another bookish related event was a change of theme on my Instagram. I’ve been loving long walks after work just around the town to catch the last rays of sunlight for my new nature inspired Instagram feed.

insta feed

I am still getting used to it and I am not sure how much I like it, but for now that is the direction I am taking both – Bookstagram and Blog.


New TV show obsession

Yes! I even had time to watch all four season of «The 100»! I just couldn’t stop! It was everything I love – action, danger, dystopian setting, great characters! Now I need to deal with the thought of waiting almost a year for the next season.

Although, the new season of «Game of Thrones» is coming out very SOON! So excited!!!


I think that was it for my May wrap up. It was truly a great month (as always my Birthday month turns out to be the best!) and I hope June will be just as amazing (or maybe even better??).

Let me know in the comments down below what was your latest TV show obsession, because I need to watch something else to get over my The 100 hangover!

With love,

Alex

13 thoughts on “May Wrap Up | 2017

Leave a Reply

