Den of Shadows by Christopher Byford | One of the few books that did not grip my attention at all!

Some books lure you in with pretty blurbs and colourful covers but then the quality of the actual content is still a hit or miss situation. This one was a total and complete miss. It’s been a while since I read a book where I couldn’t find a single thing that I would enjoy. It’s a shame because I really thought I would like it. Let’s see what exactly didn’t lie well with me.

34859647The Gambler’s Den weaves its away across the desert… But will it stop at your station?

While fighting off poverty in the blistering desert heat a travelling casino offers one night of solace. One…

The Gambler’s Den weaves its away across the desert… But will it stop at your station?

While fighting off poverty in the blistering desert heat a travelling casino offers one night of solace. One night to forget all your troubles. But once on board there is more to the show than meets the eye: enter Franco, the elaborate ringleader, Wyld the stowaway thief and Misu the fire breathing showgirl.

In a kingdom ruled by the law Franco ensures his den remains in line, ruling with an iron first. But when he’s faced with saving the fate of the train, and those on board, he may be forced to break his own rules. Life on the den isn’t just a job but a way of life. And now you’re about to find out why!

Welcome to the den…

Perfect for fans of Caraval, Rebel of the Sands and The Night Circus.

GoodReads  |  Amazon  

From the very beginning I knew it wasn’t my kind of book. I was expecting adventures from town to town as the Den traveled through the desert. I was waiting for spectacular abilities and shows that never ends. But that was not what I got.

WHAT I DISLIKED:

1 –  The tedious and never ending descriptions. Descriptions of places, descriptions of emotions, descriptions of trains, more trains and even more trains. I was never so bored reading a book.

2 – Throughout the whole book I had no idea where the plot was going. A few characters had their own side story going on. BUT! Those stories would start and I was interested to see what would happen next to that particular character and suddenly we read the book from someone else’s point of view and we don’t really get any answers. I felt confused and bored and it just wasn’t for me.

3 – It is alright with me when there are many characters and each of them gets this one distinct personality trait (for example, «The Whole Thing Together» by Ann Brashares). However, when the characters have ONLY ONE PERSONALITY TRAIT that is concerning. Franco, the owner of the Den, Misu, one of the showgirls etc, I could not connect to any of the main or side characters.

The book is only 176 pages long and it took me 4 days to finish it, can clearly see how much I didn’t like it. I would only recommend it to readers who are really into trains. Nevertheless, I want to thank NetGalley and HQ Digital for the free copy of this book. On GoodReads there are a lot of positive feedback make sure to check it out as well.

My rating:

⭐/ 5

Let me know in the comments down below if you read this book and enjoyed it! How do you deal with the books you don’t like? Do you DNF books right away or do you try to finish it in case something in the book might change your opinion about it?

With love,

Alex

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Den of Shadows by Christopher Byford | One of the few books that did not grip my attention at all!

  1. God I’m glad I’m not the only one who really didn’t like this book. I really thought I would from the blurb and the cover was gorgeous, but it just did nothing for me. My major gripe was as you said about the never ending descriptions. I mean, the desert must have been described 20+ times, there’s only so many ways you can describe a desert ya’no? I was so close to DNF’ing but I was just hoping it would get better but no 😔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s