The One by John Marrs | Do you believe in Soul Mates? What if science decided it for you?

How far would you go to find THE ONE?

One simple mouth swab is all it takes.

One tiny DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for.

cover102178-mediumA decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love.

Now, five more people take the test. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

A psychological thriller with a difference, this is a truly unique novel which is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

GoodReads  |  Amazon  |  BookDepository

Do I need to go any further? All I needed to see was “a psychological thriller”  to immediately request this book. It requires deep knowledge and a great amount of skill to write a good blurb and whoever wrote this one deserves all of the praise! When the blurb is short but captivating, when few words make you drool all over your computer as you were reading it – that is the true HERO! And that is the reason why I start this post with the blurb.

Let’s see what else about this book, besides the blurb obviously, deserves our attention!

MY EXPERIENCE (sometimes worth sharing):

You know how the blurb says “thriller” in bold letters? And how I picked it up BECAUSE IT WAS A THRILLER? Well, for some very weird reason, my brain decided to play a trick on me thinking “Oh, look, a new dystopian ARC to read! Isn’t that exciting?” and for some time I truly believed my own brain (I mean who doesn’t?) and was dying to read this “new dystopian book”.

As I started reading the first chapter, something didn’t feel quite right. The world was ours. There was no big catastrophe or anything that can even slightly resemble it. Everything is modern and I started sniffing ROMANCE. That’s when I (as true friend to my brain) didn’t start doubting it, not just yet.

After few chapters, not only could I smell romance, I was in it with all of my senses, and SUDDENLY there was CRIME. My senses started to slowly recover from all the roses, heart-shaped chocolate boxes and naughty thoughts. You’d think that would be the moment for me to realise that my brain was not a friend at all. But, no. Not quite there yet.

Don’t get me wrong, I did not expect any dystopian any time soon, but the romance was so overpowering that “thriller” did not come to my mind (or my brain was blocking it out intentionally, playing it’s little petty games).

Somewhere half through the book, I realised I needed to check it on GoodReads and finally see WHAT GENRE I WAS READING. Turned out to be (just as NetGalley promised) my beloved psychological thriller.

Now that is out of the way, let’s actually see what was so good about it.

WHAT I LIKED:

1 – The concept appealed to me and scared at the same time. Wouldn’t it be nice to have science on your side, to find you that perfect ONE. The One you are destined to be with. There is no game, no broken hearts, only You and Him.

On the other hand, what would happen to the romance? to the mystery of first dates? to overwhelming thoughts “will he call? when will he call?” that we love and hate at the same time?

2 – The story is told from 5 points of view. Five different people living different lives, the only thing they have in common is that MatchYourDNA website changed their lives. Five different stories provide you with enough perspectives to help you formulate your own opinion about the science behind love.

3 – You know those books that you literally have zero idea about what is going to happen next? This is one of them. Every page brought something new and completely unpredictable.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

1 – Yet again, the five different stories and the crazy unpredictable moments. These were both positive, because of the element of surprise and all the reasons above, but they also made me feel very overwhelmed by the amount and development of different stories. Each of them could be a separate book on their own, and maybe I’d enjoy each and every one of them a little bit more.

But that is the only complain I have about this book! It was a super fast paced read, short chapters, crazy events and interesting characters definitely made it stand out before the other books in the genre.

Thank you NetGalley and Ebury Publishing of Penguin Random House UK for the ARC of this book! But as always the review is based on my own opinions, thoughts and experiences while reading the book.

My rating:

⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5

WHO WILL LOVE THIS BOOK?

Thriller lovers will definitely appreciate this quite a lot, but I also feel like this might be the bridge for Romance lovers to try something slightly different. There are plenty of different love stories (and one of the points of view is a pure Romance without any thriller influence), but if you would like to try a more subtle thriller, this book is for you!

Let me know in the comments down below what was the last psychological thriller you’ve read and also what genre can be categorised as a “step out of the comfort zone” for you!

With love,

Alex

Leave a Reply

