Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo | Do not get fooled by the “light” cover!

Unforgettable experience of the most heartbreaking novel I’ve ever read. I might be exaggerating slightly but if you read it you’ll see what I am talking about. If was full of moments that ripped my heart in pieces (as well as my brain actually because it was hard to wrap my head around some things that happened, no spoilers here, but let me know in the comments down below if you know what I mean!).

31349579‘There are things even love can’t do… If the burden is too much and stays too long, even love bends, cracks, comes close to breaking and sometimes does break. But even when it’s in a thousand pieces around your feet, that doesn’t mean it’s no longer love…’

Yejide is hoping for a miracle, for a child. It is all her husband wants, all her mother-in-law wants, and she has tried everything – arduous pilgrimages, medical consultations, dances with prophets, appeals to God. But when her in-laws insist upon a new wife, it is too much for Yejide to bear. It will lead to jealousy, betrayal and despair.

Unravelling against the social and political turbulence of 80s Nigeria, Stay With Me sings with the voices, colours, joys and fears of its surroundings. Ayobami Adebayo weaves a devastating story of the fragility of married love, the undoing of family, the wretchedness of grief, and the all-consuming bonds of motherhood. It is a tale about our desperate attempts to save ourselves and those we love from heartbreak.

Also, this was the first novel that I’ve ever read set in Nigeria that was written by a Nigerian author. Books like this one  open my eyes and pull my nose outside to see what is actually happening in our world! We are so wrapped up in our bubbles and protective blankets that we sometimes don’t realise that thousand and thousand of miles away the world is not exactly how we see it.

WHAT I LIKED:

1 – UNPREDICTABLE TURN OF EVENTS. This book is not classified as mystery genre, more of a General Adult Fiction, but! there were tons and tons of mysteries there, which was a very pleasant addition to an already fabulous story.

2 – This book was one of the hardest to write review for. It deals with such complex and serious topics that after finishing it, I felt like I needed some breathing room for everything to sink in. But then I realised that’s exactly what I loved about it.

It’s written in a way that no one will be left indifferent to the story of Yejide, pressured by herself, as being a mother is her biggest desire, by her husband, by his family and by the society in general.

What does she have to go through to finally become the mother she wished to be?

3 – Akin is the patriarch of this little family. He is the protector, the provider, the head of the yet-to-be family. But who is the actual leader? Who is the strongest among them through tragedy after tragedy? Many more questions will arise as you are going through the story. Don’t forget to leave some tissues beside you, you don’t want the tears to blur the words on the page.

I must admit, there were moments and few scenes that made me quite uncomfortable. But the whole experience and the ending was absolutely, one hundred percent worth the discomfort. Thank you NetGalley and Canongate Books for a free ARC, as always it in no way influenced my opinions and thoughts stated above.

My rating:

⭐⭐⭐⭐

WHO WILL LOVE THIS BOOK?

This is the kind of book that should be read by any book lover. However, I must admit that there should be an age restriction, just because of the depth and complexity of the issues presented within the story that I’d not recommend for the easily impressed younger readers.

Also, this is a great “diverse read” for everyone looking to spice things up a little bit in 2017.

Let me know in the comments down below what was the last adult fiction novel you’ve read and also what other diverse reads you are looking forward this year?

signature

3 thoughts on “Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo | Do not get fooled by the “light” cover!

Leave a Reply

