January Wrap Up | 2017

I can already say with 100% certainty that 2017 is going to be a very hectic and a very busy year overall just judging by how it started. (How quickly it went by and how incredibly overloaded it was). I still managed to get my TBR down by 7 books!

30014133

 

The first book (a little bit of  cheat as I forgot to include it in my December TBR) was «Two Days Gone» by Randall Silvis. I’ve done so many posts about this book [Review and Spotlight] by now that I don’t think you need to hear me rambling about it all over again! Do you?

 

 

 

 

31311018

 

The actual first book I read in January (a little bit of a slow start) was an ARC of «The Fearless Travelers’ Guide to Wicked Places» by Pete Begler – one of the first Middle Grade novels in a VERY VERY LONG time (literally forever). Since the book is only released in March, that is when I am planning to post my review, I don’t want to give away too much. All I am going to say is if you like slightly weird and very whimsical middle grade tales, you should definitely try to get your hands on this book. It is definitely something!

 

30258320

 

Next was «Gilded Cage» by Vic James and OMG HAVE I NOT FANGIRLED ABOUT IT ENOUGH! (Yes, “to fangirl” is also a verb that describes everything you say in a overly excited way about the book you just finished reading or have a strong attachment to in general). Do you like Divergent? Well, this was even better! Intelligent, well written and an absolute page-turner!

 

 

1885

 

Afterwards, it was time to get that classic a month challenge going and I finished «Pride and Prejudice» by Jane Austin. I will be making a separate post for this challenge to discuss the classic everyone read during the month of January, see your suggestions for the next months and also announce my choice of classic for February. Stay tuned!

 

 

 

Somehow, January that started as fantasy / dystopian month, ended up with 3 Contemporary novels! (2 YA and 1 Adult). How did this happen? I have no idea. Way to show my reading mood swings.

18692431

 

 

«Everything Everything» by Nicola Yoon was everything you could expect from Nicola Yoon, heartbreaking, emotional; I cried, I chuckled and then I cried some more – all while reading it on the bench outside. A true bookworm is not afraid to show real book-induced feelings to anyone! Not even to crowds of tourists parading in front of him / her!

 

 

23507628I also finally read «I was here» by Gayle Forman. And just as Nicola Yoon’s writing, I am starting to see a certain theme and pattern, that I need a specific mood for.

What do you think about Gayle Forman’s books? The lightness they are written in immensely contrasted the slightly dark and sad topics, definitely not something you want to read to cheer yourself up – I literally cried the whole time I was reading it.

 

 

A lot of crying going on here.. I am starting to notice a pattern here as well. Illuminati!

31349579

 

The last but absolutely not the least, was «Stay with Me» by Adebayo Ayobami. Again an ARC, adult contemporary – and yet again I was almost sobbing at one point. My review will be coming around the date of the book release, but if you are on NetGalley (of course you are) check it out! Very interesting story that reads in one sitting. Captivating and very DIFFERENT from anything you read before.

 

 

 

Phew! Busy month of January resulted in 7 (6) reads and I couldn’t be happier because it feels like I haven’t touched a book in a year!

Let me know in the comments down below what books you read last month and if you managed to stick with your monthly TBR!

With love,

Alex

8 thoughts on “January Wrap Up | 2017

  1. Every time I see “Gilded Cage” I want to read it, but I keep convincing myself not to because it sounds a lot like other YA books (Divergent, Hunger Games, Red Queen) and I’m quite frankly tired of reading the same book over and over again. Since you’ve read it, do you think it stands out from the others? Is it worth it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does have a similar vibe to other dystopian and fantasy YA but it’s amazing and unique on its own as well. The concept is something I’ve never seen or read before and the writing will make you wish for more (as the book reads in one sitting).

      Let me know if you decide to pick it up. Because I definitely think you should! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

