The Silver Key by Elena Schauwecker | Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY

Have you ever thought what would happen if the Sun and the  Moon started a war? A space war! And their target would be the Earth! How would it be to live under constant sunlight or in permanent shadows? You are intrigued, aren’t you?

Elena Schauwecker definitely gave a lot of thought into this whole planet vs star, star vs planet situation.

«The Silver Key» is a whimsical (I would rate it as middle grade) fantasy that follows Alissa McCaw on her path to discovering magic, new friends and hidden secrets of the world.

32149778“If those bad guys—Meladyne—if they have this Key, they will . . .?”
“Unlock the greatest power in all the universe and enslave every man, woman, and child on this planet, destroying the earth and all life as you know it; there will be nowhere to go but Meladyne. Then they’ll leave the Sunolians, the spirits, and all the magical creatures here to die.”
Alyssa pulled the Key out of her pocket and held it up. “Unless I protect this little thing?”
“Yes.”
Alyssa McCaw is a normal fourteen-year-old girl, perfectly happy with her life. But when one little key falls into her hands, her whole world is turned upside down. She suddenly finds herself whisked into a world full of the one thing she never would’ve thought possible: magic. At first, it appears to be a beautiful thing. But as Alyssa and her sister soon discover, magic, like all things, has a dark side. When her best friend Hazel is taken captive by a land of dark magic, it is up to Alyssa and her friends to rescue both Hazel and the world.
A classic tale of light versus dark, this book will pull you into a universe of love, betrayal, and, most of all, magic.

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: December 6th 2016

Add to GoodReads  |  Amazon  |  Author Links: GoodReads  Twitter  Facebook

A classic tale of light versus dark, this book will pull you into a universe of love, betrayal, and, most of all, magic.

WHAT I LIKED:

1 – An interesting and different “magic school” idea. Yes, we all know and love Harry Potter. Yes, we even read similar books about magic schools because there is something so captivating and interesting about them (and they always remind us about the first time we picked up Harry Potter book and wished an owl would bring us our invitation to Hogwarts School of Magic!). However! Ever since the release of Harry Potter, inumerous books started to appear with the “similar” ideas.

«The SIlver Key» is something different! There is magic, yes. There are kids learning magic, yes. But! It will surprise you of how unique the idea was!

2 – First book by a very young Author. For someone who is only forteen years old to write something like this is astounding! There were some flaws I must admit but nonetheless it was better than some more adult books that I’ve read recently.

3 – The fairly good writing brings me to this point – FULL OF EVENTS and an EASY READ. Since the book is only 300 pages long, every single page was filled with events. There was no breathing room and that is good! A new debut novel needs to be fast paced (to compensate for the lack of writing experience).

WHAT I DISLIKED:

1 – The first thing I noticed that made me flinch, was “blonde”. And no, don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against people with blonde hair! However, I feel like an author should never say something like: “The blonde sat down …. Or The blonde kept doing … “ about their protagonists. Do you agree here with me? (Please, give me the approving nod! I beeeeeg you!)

2 – There could be more to the story. As I said, the idea itself was great. But since the book was really short the events didn’t have time to develop enough and some things would happen out of pure luck (or what felt like a push to reduce the amount of pages).

My Rating:

⭐⭐⭐ 3.5 / 5

Younger readers will definitely enjoy this book probably even more than I did (As you grow older the “word flinching” comes more often and more natural to you, trust me on this one).

I am in a very strong mood to read more fantasy now! What I am hoping to achieve this December!

Leave your thoughts and comments down below and let me know what is your favourite fantasy novel of all time (excluding HP!).

This blog tour was organised by YA Bound Book Tours and they generously provided a copy of this book for an honest review.

the-silver-key-tour-banner

There is also a GIVEWAY!!! Make sure to use this oppotunity to get an extra Christmas present: a Rafflecopter giveaway

With love,

Alex

5 thoughts on “The Silver Key by Elena Schauwecker | Blog Tour and GIVEAWAY

  1. WOW 14 years old?? That’s really impressive to have written a book at that age! I’m not sure if I’ll pick this one up, just as like you said, there are a lot of books featuring magic schools and I’ve grown super picky about the ones I read. One of my favorite fantasy books is The Rook by Daniel O’Malley AND The invisible library by Genevieve …. something >.< I am horrible with names.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. IT’S SO GOOD. The main character wakes up in the middle of a park without any memory and surrounded by men in plastic gloves (who are passed out). She finds a letter in her coat that is addressed “To You.” Her pre-amnesiac self kept meeting people who told her she’d lose her memories, so after a significant number of encounters, she makes up two plans for her no-memory self. 1) flee to a life far away from her old one and hope no one catches up to her, 2) pretend to be the pre-amnesiac self and find out who stole her memory. It’s a supernatural James Bond-type book. 🙂

        Like

  2. Great review! And yes, I completely agree with you, if I had to always read “the blonde … the blonde …” I would go mad haha
    14 years old is a really impressive age for a writer! I’m glad she’s having the opportunity to follow her dreams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

