How to stay at the top of your game

We are all very productive and efficient on a day-to-day basis (Don’t argue with me! Just let’s pretend that we are). But all of us have those days when nothing seems to get done.

We have a huge to-do list in front of us, but something is always stopping us from doing it. We’d rather lay down and watch Netflix or TV or YouTube videos for hours and hours (Believe me, I waste so much time on YouTube!).

So what should we do to get into the «productive mood» again? I decided to share some of my tips that seem to help me drag myself from the couch and away from vicious YouTube.

1 – The first step is ACCEPTANCE! It is okay to let yourself relax sometimes, especially when the to-do list get out of control! We need time to recharge, get our minds off the mundane things and just rest for a bit. Note: The code word here is «a bit»! Resting is good but when we get too much of it we get lazy!

2 – I was talking about to-do lists. Well, another way to get more efficient is to actually write down all the things that need to be done. What I usually do here is break my lists into “urgent” or “not urgent” piles. For example, I make sure to write down when my ARC reviews are due so I won’t miss them and can actually get ahead.

3 – On the «lazy» day, don’t push yourself too hard. Start with the small and simple tasks and make your way through the list as far as you can get. However, never, NEVER force yourself to read. It will result in not enjoying the book, make your hobby more like an obligation and in worse case you will read yourself to a reading slump (We don’t want that!).

4 – Reward yourself for every accomplished task. Be it something simple like tidying your room or something more difficult and time consuming, like finishing the last tome of «War and Peace» by Lev Tolstoy.

5 – Finally, find things that make you more productive. For me, for example, an episode of Gilmore Girls instantly makes me want to read, to learn, to be efficient and do 100 things at the same time! (but I stay and watch Gilmore Gilrs over and over again)

Find the right balance between working and resting, and the «lazy» days will make you feel relaxed and rested instead of guilty for not doing much!

Let me know in the comments down below what are your ways to always stay at the top of your game.

With love,

Alex

26 thoughts on “How to stay at the top of your game

  1. It’s so hard to be productive sometimes. I also get stuck watching YouTube videos of the most mundane things possible until I realize I should have been doing something else instead haha. Gilmore Girls is dangerous that way. You get inspired by Rory reading, but you also want to keep watching episodes 😛
    To do lists are the best. They really force you to look at all you need to do and it is very rewarding to scratch things off once you’re done with them. They are definitely the most helpful tools when it comes to productivity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually stress a lot when I have things to do and procrastination doesn’t seem like going away, and even though I do this: do to lists, relax, etc – it only helps me for a couple of hours.
    Great post, btw, when I read the title I instantly opened it because, hey, guess what, I’m procrastinating 😂 (kinda, actually, I was writing stuff for my blog, but now I’m super tired BUT I STILL HAVE SO MUCH TO DO)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Gilmore Girls statement is so so true! Every time I watch it, it makes me want to read and be productive also but I never get around to doing that because I stay sat on my butt watching Gilmore Girls :’) I think it’s the same as most shows, Supernatural makes me want to go out and find some ghosts, kill some demons and fight with Lucifer but I decide against that too.. great post, love it and it’s very helpful actually! – Sarah xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes!! Yes!!! And a spell book!! (Fun fact: when I was little me and my friends used to be obsessed with Charmed. So we even tried to make out own spell book, and spells and options. The demons were usually trees that we threw junk at (junk=potions) 😀😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m currently trying to “relax” right now because I’ve been trying to do everything & yeah it’s not working. I’m reading less and I’m still on my Christmas movie path, which I think is helping me out. Gilmore Girls is a very good way to relax! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a festive idea! I totally suggest starting with the classics, I made the mistake of starting with weird TV Christmas movies I found on Netflix & some were actually pretty good, and the some were utter garbage! I’ll have my first instalment of movies up very soon, so look out for that as well! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah! They’re indeed useful, Alex. 😛 Love your tips on staying productive and getting rid of lazy bugs in us. 🙂 Honestly, I haven’t figured out the best way to be as efficient as I want so the only thing that keeps me from fooling around is the sudden pressure I feel whenever important deadline is just around the corner. :O Well, I’ll definitely take your ideas into account when I encounter the laziness next time, which I believe will be real soon. :> Thanks for sharing, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Something I’ve always done to be productive is get out of my room. In college I never got anything done unless I went to the library. And now that’s still kind of true. Most of my reading I get done at the library.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

