101: Trip Planning Part 1 – Research

I know most of you already went and came back from holidays, but as my holidays will be in September and I am going somewhere exciting very far away, I decided to share with you my way of trip planning (especially when it comes to books).

Research, research and research!

When going somewhere new, it is always a good start to learn about the place a little bit more.

Things to looks for (I will break them into a few categories):

Essentials

(WHY: It is good to be prepared for any occurrence. Getting lost might be an adventurous thing to do, but can sometimes be very unpleasant, especially when you are not familiar with local language to ask for direction and your phone is not picking up any WiFi signals):

  • Hotels,
  • Restaurants,
  • Maps of the places you want to visit,
  • Map of where you will be living and everything around it,
  • Metro stops,
  • Bus, taxi, ferry, and other means of transportation,
  • Prices! (very important one here),
  • And Currency rates!

Places to visit

(WHY: Obviously because that is what tourists do! No. There is noone out there that will make you see and visit different attractions. You can choose what and when as you wish, it is YOUR holidays after all. But just in case, Research!)

  • Tourist attractions,
  • Views and nature,
  • Excursions and their prices,
  • Hidden gems’,
  • Museums (if you are an art or history lover),
  • Buildings (not only for architectures! It is fun to see how different buildings are all around the world because of different reasons)!

Things to buy

(WHY: Maybe the best holiday for you requires shopping, or maybe the currency rate of your destination is very low and you would like to take this opportunity, or maybe you just want souvenirs for you, your entire family and squad of friends, or maybe you are just a shopaholic! No explanation is needed. No One will judge you. Promise!):

  • Supermarkets,
  • Malls,
  • Flea markets,
  • Find out when it is Sales time,
  • Places where local shop (tend to be way cheaper).

If you are a bookworm

(Life is so much more interesting if you are a bookworm! No objections please! There is just so much more we can do and learn and read and… read?)

  • Bookstores!
  • Libraries and their timetables;
  • Local bargain book stores;
  • Book fairs!
  • Book signings and local authors.

The best part is that we can learn about the place we are going from the books we read. Try to find a book set in that place even if in different era!

For example, when I was little one of my favourite books was set in Paris and they visited so many places: Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Louvre Museum, Arc de Triomphe, Tuileries Gardens, Sacre Coeur, Champs Elysees, and so on! The images were so vivid in my head! It actually made me pick up Victor Hugo novels.

Later on, the Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown brought back the same feelings and I still dream about visiting Paris one day, seeing everything with my own eyes and capturing the magnificent experience.

I will continue my 101: Trip Planning series as I keep preparing for the trip!

Let me know in the comments down below how you prepare for a trip and what are the things you usually look for?

With Love,

Alex

5 thoughts on “101: Trip Planning Part 1 – Research

  1. I’m embarrassed to say that even though I consider myself a diehard bookworm, it has never really occurred to me to do many bookish things when I’m on vacation. Your post has definitely got me rethinking how I plan for vacations in the future though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! 🙂 Sometimes I overplan my trips and don’t actually see or visit as many things as I was hoping to, or I end up bringing few (everything below 10 books is considered few!) books back from the trip… #hardlifeofabookworm 😀

    Like

  3. My husband and I are planning a two week long road trip. My major concern is my blog. Should I announce that I won’t be blogging for a few weeks? Or, should I just say nothing and reappear in the blogosphere two weeks later? I’m thinking from two angles. Security AND keeping my blog followers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good question! I think a small post announcing your time away from the blog will be a nice touch unless it doesn’t go with your “blog style” (some might be more personal than others).

      From my experience, a little breaks of one or two weeks haven’t hurt my blog in any way.

      Another thing you could try to do is schedule 1-3 posts for the weeks you will be gone, people will still see your posts even if you won’t be able to reply right away 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

