Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Attachments

Book: Attachments

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Chá das Cinco (Portugal)

Rating: ★★★★★ / 5

***
Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.
Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.
When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

Disclaimer: «As it was impossible to contain all of my emotions, and after telling all my close friends about this book to spread the word, and after crying about my life being over and impossibility of living without Rainbow Rowell books, I decided to share this with you and… completely avoided the “actual review” part…»
There is something about Rainbow Rowell books that keep me reading until the story is over, not able to do anything else, not even when you have huge essays to write and papers to finish and the deadlines are approaching very quickly!

I was determined last weekend to work as hard as I could. I told myself: “No reading and no TV shows until at least a huge portion of your work is done, young lady!” (Don’t you talk to yourself just sometimes?) And I completely failed all my plans and laid out in the sun laughing and crying, laughing and crying over Attachments, finishing it in one sit.

If I was an absolute fan of Rainbow Rowell writing after reading Fangirl, I am a complete fanatic right now, addicted to her characters (every single one relatable and lovable in a different way), to her funny writing that makes you giggle out of nowhere, to those sad romantic stories that make you tear up, or cry, or sob out loud for everyone to hear.

I am of an opinion right now that everyone should at least try one of her novels because it is impossible not to like them.

As you probably already understood, I fell in love with Beth and Lincoln from the first pages. The idea of telling a story through e-mails was the perfect ingredient for the book to be a light read but yet full of events, of different feelings and emotions.

If I could give this book more than 5 stars I definitely would, however no matter how many stars I will give, it would never be enough to describe, justify how amazing it made me feel, what a wonderful experience that I honestly didn’t expect.

For everyone who is on holidays (or not) looking for a summery read, I would recommend to pick up Attachments and give it a try. Hopefully, you will like it just as much as I did.

P.S. No skin was sun burnt during the reading session.

P.P.S. I am officially on a hunt for other Rainbow Rowell books, until I get them all!

Let me know if you’ve read this book or any other books by Rainbow Rowell and your thoughts on them.

5 thoughts on “Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.