Review: I am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes

18144124_FotorBook: I am Pilgrim

Author: Terry Hayes

Publisher: Corgi Books

Year: 2013

Rating: ★★★★★ / 5

 

***

A young woman murdered in a run-down Manhattan hotel.
A father publicly beheaded in the blistering sun of Saudi Arabia.
A man’s eyes stolen from his living body as he leaves a secret Syrian research laboratory.
Smouldering human remains on a mountainside in the Hindu Kush.
A plot to commit an appalling crime against humanity.
One thread that binds them all.
One man to take the journey.
Pilgrim

I have been reading some very mixed reviews on this book, especially the rating on GoodReads, that fluctuate from one / two stars up to five, and it really surprised me. I feel like people are intimidated by the size of the book and, at some points of the story, by its exceptional depth and complexity, so it doesn’t always capture their attention and they give up before finishing.

I must admit that I did feel like putting it aside few times while powering through the enormous book, especially when the narration was taking its flow towards Saracen and his life, the events that led to where he was and made him who he was. Although, at the same time I absolutely loved the main character and everything related to him, past and present.

It was horrifyingly captivating.

As a true lover of thrillers and crime novels, it was an amazing read, full of events. Basically, the whole life of Scott Murdoch was told to us in a matter of 900 pages. I am glad the story was completely over and hopefully we won’t see any further sequels, just because I want Terry Hayes to create a fresh and just as exciting story that will grip my attention till the very last page.

Anyone who read this novel, let me know what your thoughts are about his meeting with Pamuk. This encounter spanning across few chapters, totally won my heart. I believe it was the only thing I marked in the book that really stood out for me and I wanted to write down somewhere so I would never forget:

« If you want to be free, all you have to do is let go.»

Leave a Reply

